Make It Your Own

Make it unique. Make it yourself. Make it your own

Knit a Coathanger Cover 21 August, 2007

Filed under: knitting,Travel,Vegetable gardening,Weekly useful stuff — makeityourown @ 9:52 am

Hi there folks, sorry I didn’t do a post last week. I had the dreaded lurgy and was a bit snowed under with work for next Yarn magazine which will be out in October. I’ve been working on a pattern, writing my usual column and doing a book review. This week I have some work for someone else and I’m writing a pattern out of the goodness of my heart for a good friend whose favourite cardigan needs a replacement. Sigh…

KNITTED COATHANGER COVERS

Why knit coathanger covers? Aren’t they totally daggy and something that only your grandma makes? Actually I treasure the only one my Grandma made for me, just because she made it, even though it’s made from red and white nylon with a purple bow. I have a couple of very frilly eyelet lace ones too that other people have given me. I don’t like the look of them but I still use them. Why? Because they are soft and keep my clothes looking nice. I’ll always use a covered hanger over a plain one to hang my clothes on, even if it’s pastel orange and purple eyelet lace. In the December 2006 issue of Yarn I had some Christmas gift patterns, among them three coathanger covers, that were not frilly or made from hard nylon. They were knitted with Sirdar Denim Ultra, a very thick, squishy yarn that comes in some stylish colours.

When making a coathanger cover you want the result to be soft and a little padded and take the hard edges from the wooden hanger. Textured stitches are best and, so that you don’t need to add any padding, a thick yarn. I whipped up a few yesterday in standard 8ply or DK weight wool. By using 3 strands of wool together, you get a good thick cover, mottled colour effects and they knit up fast.

The patterns are on the Free Patterns page. Here’s a picture of them with dear Selby sound asleep.

Coathangers and Selby

IN THE GARDEN

The heated propagating tray works a treat. We germinated seeds in August in just a week. If you are a keen gardener who likes to get the summer vegies started early or you want better germination results, then a heated tray is worth the money ($60). We have already removed one try of seeds (see the photo) and we’ve started another one with tomatoes, cucumber and capsicum. Amazing! We are very impressed with it.

Seeds in August

IN OTHER NEWS

Here’s some exciting news: I’ll be teaching a Learn to Knit Socks workshop as part of the Quilt and Craft Fair in November. They have accepted my proposal to lead a 3 hour class and teach people the basics of knitting socks. The class will be on Tuesday 6th November at 2pm at the Adelaide Showground. I’ll have more information soon. I’m a little nervous but I’ve knitted lots of socks in lots of different ways so I guess I know what I’m talking about.

The Mt Pleasant Fibre Fair was pretty good. Matthew and I had our picnic in the car because there was a freezing wind blowing in the hills. We drove along a dirt road just outside of Mt Pleasant and pulled up near some cows and a wonderful gum tree. Matthew ended up spending more then me. He bought some wine and I bought a gorgeous dark grey corriedale fleece.

Fleece

Near Mt Pleasant

The sun is shining here this week so I’m going to do my best to enjoy it. Spinning in the sun sounds nice doesn’t it? Have a good week. Sarah.

 

5 Responses to “Knit a Coathanger Cover”

  1. Levineke Says:

    Hi Sarah,

    Where did you get your seed tray from. My husband was looking at one at twice the price! We would dearly love to get one too.
    Still loving your blog.

    Regards
    Levineke

  2. makeityourown Says:

    Ours came from the Diggers Club. We are members and get their magazines and catalogues and that’s where we get our seeds from. Members get their products cheaper than non members. I made a mistake in the post, it actually cost us $75. For non members it is $85. You can order on line at http://www.diggers.com.au. Glad you like the blog. S.

  3. Fran Kienlen Says:

    In the late 1960′s, I knit covers for wooden hangers and gave them away for Christmas presents. I still have several hangers and they are in great shape. We used a nylon or rayon type remnant “yarn”. We used only one ply, though, because it was thick and is very durable. Your above picture in the middle looks like the ones we made, except we did some crisscross tying up the neck of the hangar. In your experience, have you seen thicker nylon remnants? I have about six balls left and am again thinking about doing up some hangers for gifts for my grandkids, but will need more yarn and hangars. I could send you a pic if you need to help ID the material. Thanks.

  4. makeityourown Says:

    Hi Fran, would you mind sending us a photo? I’ve seen nylon tape around the place but not remnants so I’m not sure what you mean. Sarah.

  5. Wen Says:

    I learnt to knit making coat hanger covers in the 70s, we used nylon tape on big needles too. size 2 / 7mm from memory. My Grandmother made me a gorgeous 4ply wool one in blackberry stitch that I had for years. Unfortunately it was a child size hanger so can’t be used any more.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.