Make It Your Own

Make it unique. Make it yourself. Make it your own

A short post for a sunny day 24 July, 2007

Filed under: Weekly useful stuff — makeityourown @ 10:29 am

Hmmm,

I don’t really have a lot to talk about this week. Since it is a very sunny and beautiful day I don’t want to stay indoors and write book or yarn reviews. I’d rather get on top of the pruning before the plants start to put on their spring growth and perhaps do a little knitting in the sun. The recent rain has made our weeds very lush and green and healthy and they are getting a bit big for their boots. Little do they know they are about to reach the end of their lives. Lots of them came out on the weekend and more are coming out today. Die, weeds, die, ha ha ha (evil laugh).

I do have another left over sock wool pattern though. It’s quick, easy and uses about 25g of sock wool. Have a look at the Free Patterns page.

Thanks to everyone who has left comments over the last few weeks. I love comments! Keep them coming. Antia – I’m not sure what you mean by a tea cosy that’s darned inside. Perhaps you have a picture? Vellan – you said you are envious of my potatoes. Well I’m envious that you can grow cherries where you are. It’s too hot here on the plains. Go on, plant that cherry tree.

A while ago I mentioned that I had joined the Spinners and Weavers Guild. I went twice but it is so cold in the old hall where they meet that I’ve decided not to go again until the weather warms up. Last time I went my hands got so cold that I was hard to make the wool do what I wanted it to. In the mean time I will spin at home, where it is warm and where hot drinks are easily made.

For those interested, the Mt Pleasant Wool and Fibre Festival is coming up. It will be on Sat 11th August in the Mt Pleasant Soldiers Memorial Hall from 10am to 4pm. I’m planning to go. Mt Pleasant is a very pleasant place (well duh). The drive there from Adelaide is equally lovely and less than an hour from the city. Why not go for a drive and take a picnic? If you go up via Gorge Rd, you’ll drive alongside the Torrens River which is very pretty and you’ll drive through Cudlee Creek, Gumeracha and Birdwood, all of which are classic Adelaide Hills towns. (For those not from around here, Birdwood is the home of Australia’s National Motor Museum. If you are into vehicles of any description, you’ll enjoy it.)

I’m going to enjoy this rare bit of warm sun and soak it up before it gets cold, wet and grey again.

Sarah.

 

One Response to “A short post for a sunny day”

  1. Vellan Says:

    I’m going to Mt Pleasant (I remember getting yarn for a shawl for my mother-in-law from Merindah Mohair somewhere in that area) with Mum, Dad and Husband.

    I haven’t been to the Wool and Fibre Festival before; I’m looking forward to it. I’m going to have to pack some All-Bran so that I won’t have lied to Husband. When I said I wanted to go to the Fibre Festival, he said “What? Like cereal?” and I rolled my eyes and said “Yes. Exactly like cereal.” Sometimes it’s just not worth the bother.

    Sock wool baby hat = gorgeous. If only I knew someone who was having a baby. Maybe charity knitting?


Leave a Reply

